XXHighEnd

Ultimate Audio Playback => Music Storage and convenient playback => Topic started by: Gerard on May 01, 2017, 10:05:59 am



Title: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 01, 2017, 10:05:59 am
So here it is  :prankster:

I am going to attempt making a remote control trough a music server..

I have 2? options..

Which should i choose?

 :)



Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 01, 2017, 10:57:17 am
Hi Gerard,

In my opinion, you need to connect audio pc, music server & NAS to an Ethernet switch .
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-GS205-100UKS-Gigabit-Ethernet-Desktop/dp/B00AYRZYG4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1493628581&sr=8-4&keywords=Ethernet+hub

Create static IP address for all 3, XXHE pc, music server & NAS.

RDP connection between XXHE PC & music server.

Then connect music server & remote tablet over wifi, maybe Bluetooth but I'm not sure.

Best regards,

Arvind


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 01, 2017, 11:01:20 am
Hi Gerard,

In my opinion, you need to connect audio pc, music server & NAS to an Ethernet switch .
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-GS205-100UKS-Gigabit-Ethernet-Desktop/dp/B00AYRZYG4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1493628581&sr=8-4&keywords=Ethernet+hub

Create static IP address for all 3, XXHE pc, music server & NAS.

RDP connection between XXHE PC & music server.

Then connect music server & remote tablet over wifi, maybe Bluetooth but I'm not sure.

Best regards,

Arvind

ok thanx....

So 1 cable from meterkast to the place where i have the XX pc and Music server... I have such a switch laying around somewhere so i can use that....

Thanx


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: manisandher on May 01, 2017, 11:46:30 am
Gerard, my strong recommendation is to go for your option 2. This will totally isolate your audio PC from the internet. You will then need to set up an RDC connection from the server to the audio PC - simple to do. And then connect to the server remotely in whichever way works for you.

I used to use a Synology NAS and switched to a server PC a while ago. It's a much neater solution IMO. But one thing I found was that everything works 'better' if both the server and audio PC use Win10.

Sorry, don't have time to go further right now, but ask any questions and I'll answer in a short while.

Mani.


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 01, 2017, 12:29:27 pm
Hi Gerard,

To your question...yes.

Referring to Mani's suggestion, your music server would need to have 2 lan ports. One to connect NAS & the other to connect to audio pc. If I have understood Mani's suggestion correctly.

Best regards,

Arvind


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 01, 2017, 02:20:23 pm
Mani and Arvind,

Thank you....

So both W10.....  :good:

But i was thinking if i do it like this.... I do not need internet???

This for my situation would be ideal for now....

This will work????

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 01, 2017, 03:40:07 pm
Hi Gerard,

If you're still considering a NAS for music data storage, that would need to be connected to the music server via Lan.

Best regards,

Arvind


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 01, 2017, 04:02:08 pm
Hi Arvind,

With again the notice that I don't like a NAS etc. etc. and don't own one, are you sure about this :

Quote
a NAS for music data storage, that would need to be connected to the music server via Lan.

Because I think that can not work because of two reasons :
1. You can not share the NAS to a PC and another PC next using the data of the NAS via again a share the Music Server PC has (the NAS can not be shared again);
2. It *is* possible when the 2x LAN connections are bridged (via the both Network Adapters), but now the Audio PC is connected to the Internet.

Of course there's more do's and don't's like Gerard implying (?) that he won't be connected to the Internet at all. This allows for #2 above.

Gerard, I need to stress that you are working (or seem to be working) on a setup which disallows Internet all together, which is fine. But it also cuts you from (e.g. ?) Tidal and for some future you may want that.
So I say that the Music Server PC should be connected to the Internet.

For Arvind (and others) : no NAS allows you to utilize Tidal via XXHighEnd or IOW that does require a PC as such. And now if you put everything together (what I said above), the NAS is redundant.
Only when you allow the Audio PC to connect to the Internet, the whole is a different story. But let that be for now because it is only confusing and I don't think anyone would really want that.

Sorry to interfere !
:)
Peter



Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 01, 2017, 04:44:03 pm
Hi Gerard,

In my opinion, you need to connect audio pc, music server & NAS to an Ethernet switch .
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-GS205-100UKS-Gigabit-Ethernet-Desktop/dp/B00AYRZYG4/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1493628581&sr=8-4&keywords=Ethernet+hub

Create static IP address for all 3, XXHE pc, music server & NAS.

RDP connection between XXHE PC & music server.

Then connect music server & remote tablet over wifi, maybe Bluetooth but I'm not sure.

Best regards,

Arvind

Hi Peter,

With the above connection I can access the NAS from both audio pc (via RDP) as well as music server. Pls note I do not have monitor, keyboard or mouse connected to the audio pc. I operate the XXHE pc via music server (laptop) using RDP.

My music server is connected to the internet via wifi. But no internet connection to the audio pc.

I hope this answers all the questions. Otherwise shoot some more.

Best regards,

Arvind


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 01, 2017, 05:16:52 pm
Hey Arvind,

Quote
NAS for music data storage, that would need to be connected to the music server via Lan.

I misread you here and interpreted it as "via LAN cable". Literally though you said "network and thus via switch/router".

I apologise !
Peter


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 01, 2017, 06:35:10 pm
Ok i am going to skip the idear with the NAS for now...

I have a second pc which i do not use and can make it a music server with one 8 TB HDD...

 :)



Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: manisandher on May 01, 2017, 07:00:23 pm
I have a second pc which i do not use and can make it a music server with one 8 TB HDD...

Good choice. I'd recommend that you get hold of a second HDD and keep a backup of your 8TB HDD on the server also. The HDDs in my server all spin down after literally a few seconds of inactivity and remain that way until accessed again. The Win10 OS is on a separate SSD. When using XX in Unattended and 'copy to XX file', all the files are transferred to RAM in the audio PC and the HDDs in the server spin down. I reckon it's a really neat solution, and should increase the longevity of the HDDs.

Mani.


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 01, 2017, 08:48:55 pm
I have a second pc which i do not use and can make it a music server with one 8 TB HDD...

Good choice. I'd recommend that you get hold of a second HDD and keep a backup of your 8TB HDD on the server also. The HDDs in my server all spin down after literally a few seconds of inactivity and remain that way until accessed again. The Win10 OS is on a separate SSD. When using XX in Unattended and 'copy to XX file', all the files are transferred to RAM in the audio PC and the HDDs in the server spin down. I reckon it's a really neat solution, and should increase the longevity of the HDDs.

Mani.

Ah that sounds good... That's what i did not like in this setup... In my case the Music server is in the same dresser as my XXhighend pc.

Making the XX pc quit as possible but a music server which still makes noise  :wacko:

 :thankyou:


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 02, 2017, 10:01:11 am
Try a laptop as music server. Won't make noise.


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: JohanZ on May 02, 2017, 11:14:58 am
Hi Gerard,

Buy a Nuc or Barebone e.g. GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BACE-3150 fanless  150,-

Regards Johan


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 11:48:33 am
Hi Gerard,

Buy a Nuc or Barebone e.g. GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BACE-3150 fanless  150,-

Regards Johan

Thanx i will look into it... :-)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 11:51:30 am
Ok.....

Am i correct that a connection (LAN) between a laptop and the xxhighendpc wont work because off the fact that the XXHighend pc which is not connected to the internet has no IP adress?

So RDP wont work...

When i enter IPCONFIG in the XXpc there is no IP adress shown

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Arjan on May 02, 2017, 01:17:46 pm
Hi Gerard,

You are correct. But you can determine a fixed ip address on the lan card and use that on both sides.

regards, Arjan


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 01:20:23 pm
Hi Gerard,

You are correct. But you can determine a fixed ip address on the lan card and use that on both sides.

regards, Arjan

Hey Arjan,

 And how can i do that?  :scratching: :scratching:

 :)



Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Arjan on May 02, 2017, 01:38:47 pm
Hi Gerard,

Try to google for setup static ip address windows 10.

e.g. https://www.supportrix.com/kb/how-to-set-a-static-or-fixed-ip-address-in-windows-10/

I use 192.168.1.2 as fixed IP address.

Hope this helps you further.




Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 01:41:42 pm
Ok will try that when i am home...

I can do that in 14393.0 in the XX pc?

Do not need to go to another version?

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 02, 2017, 01:46:55 pm
Ok.....

Am i correct that a connection (LAN) between a laptop and the xxhighendpc wont work because off the fact that the XXHighend pc which is not connected to the internet has no IP adress?

So RDP wont work...

When i enter IPCONFIG in the XXpc there is no IP adress shown

 :)

Gerard, these things must be arranged for while being in Normal OS ...

Peter


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 01:51:41 pm
Peter,

I did that  :)

Both pc are not connected to the internet.

I liked to try to make a connection from my laptop to the Audiopc.

Connected both with LAN kabel.

Going to try making a IP adres when i am home

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 02, 2017, 03:13:30 pm
Hi Gerard,

Control panel/Network & Internet/Network Connections/right click on Ethernet/ click properties from drop down menu/select internet protocol version4 (TCP/IPv4)/double click/select use only the following IP address/in IP address enter 192.168.1.1/press Tab which will give subnet mask 255.255.255.0/click ok.

Same process for the other PC or laptop except enter IP address as 192.168.1.2.

Now you've created static IP address for each PC.

Hope this helps.

Best regards,

Arvind


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 05:04:15 pm
Hello Peter,

Als Arvind Said i liked to go to the Network connections on the audio pc.

But the folder is empty.

Any idear?

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 05:18:57 pm
Ah turned of in BIOS  :) :) ;)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 05:34:32 pm
Ok next  ;)

I got these message....


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 02, 2017, 05:41:40 pm
I don't know really, but I don't think the account name (gebruikersname) is RAM-OS. It will be XXHE.
Not easy to get the overview with the size of you pictures. I know I know, you want to show off with your camera ...

:) :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 05:52:59 pm
I don't know really, but I don't think the account name (gebruikersname) is RAM-OS. It will be XXHE.
Not easy to get the overview with the size of you pictures. I know I know, you want to show off with your camera ...

:) :)

Sorry its easy with my tablet.....

But XXHE wont work...



Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 02, 2017, 05:55:44 pm
Gerard, that is the computer name you are showing there. The representative part you already filled with the IP address (this is good).

So, account name ...
(XXHE)

Peter


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 05:59:19 pm
Gerard, that is the computer name you are showing there. The representative part you already filled with the IP address (this is good).

So, account name ...
(XXHE)

Peter

Same message...



Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 06:11:15 pm
Yes i/whe have done it  :) :) :) :)

So now to the next.....

And that is music from the laptop to the Audiopc....

 Thanx


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 02, 2017, 06:45:42 pm
Change from one integrated system to Music Server + Audio PC (Control) (http://www.phasure.com/index.php?topic=3211.0).


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 02, 2017, 08:53:55 pm
Everybody :blob8:

I have it all working  :) Everything disconnected from my Audio pc and the laptop takes over  ;)

This sure was the most difficult thing i did on a pc.  :)

Thank you all!!

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: zackthedog on May 03, 2017, 05:28:03 am
Everybody :blob8:

I have it all working  :) Everything disconnected from my Audio pc and the laptop takes over  ;)

This sure was the most difficult thing i did on a pc.  :)

Thank you all!!

 :)

Congratulations!


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: arvind on May 03, 2017, 07:50:14 am
Great. I'm sure you'll find an improvement in the SQ.

Cheers


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 07, 2017, 11:07:56 am
After 5 day's of been using this i do not have any problem regarding playback what so ever!!

Not one sudden stop or tick....

  :goodjob::thankyou:


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: boleary on May 07, 2017, 02:32:32 pm
Glad you got it all working Gerard. It was a difficult job for me as well, way above my computer capacity. One thing I recently found was that unplugging the laptop from the mains and just running off it's battery gives a more organic sound. Not a huge difference but, for me, a significant difference. I just ordered a new battery for the laptop yesterday.


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 07, 2017, 02:35:47 pm
Glad you got it all working Gerard. It was a difficult job for me as well, way above my computer capacity. One thing I recently found was that unplugging the laptop from the mains and just running off it's battery gives a more organic sound. Not a huge difference but, for me, a significant difference. I just ordered a new battery for the la
ptop yesterday.

But the music plays from the xxpc? :scratching:

How do you mean?

Your audio pc is the laptop....

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: boleary on May 07, 2017, 02:43:04 pm
No, the laptop is the server (4tb external hd with music files connected to laptop) which is connected to the audio pc (running XXHighend-no mouse keyboard, fans but running RAM-OS)through the LAN, which I believe is what you did too?

So running the laptop on battery power improves the sound coming from the audio pc. I guess there must be some small amount of noise that gets into the audio pc via the LAN connection. Running the laptop on battery power helps reduce that noise.


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on May 07, 2017, 02:59:03 pm
I think it can be so that the Music Server PC spits on to the mains with its Switching Power Supply (probably a 19V brick in your case, Brian) and this noise gets into the Audio PC (which in your case also has a Switching Power Supply IIRC), but alas).

I have the Music Server PC in a sperate ring (with separate earth). I must say that I never tried it with a Linear Power Supply ...

Peter


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on May 07, 2017, 03:46:16 pm
Ah ok.....

But i have so many switching stuff......  :(

Could you try that Peter?

Would be  easy  :)

 :)


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on September 03, 2018, 01:23:22 pm
Hello Peter,

Remember this post?

It has been a long time that i played music and yesterday i could not get it working.

I connected the laptop to the music pc and tried to make the connection by using the shortcut (MSTSC)

Two weeks ago i removed a lot of documents and foto's to make extra space on the laptop.

Could it be that i moved a certain file that i need to make it work?

Thanx Gerard


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: PeterSt on September 03, 2018, 02:49:15 pm
Gerard, maybe your last activities on/for that laptop caused a Windows 10 update ? Or, that happened earlier already but you never tried RDC since ?

Look here :
CredSSP policy change - no RDP possible (http://www.phasure.com/index.php?topic=4034.0).

Eh, good luck !
Regards,
Peter


Title: Re: Help with Remote Control and music server.
Post by: Gerard on September 03, 2018, 03:16:18 pm
Gerard, maybe your last activities on/for that laptop caused a Windows 10 update ? Or, that happened earlier already but you never tried RDC since ?

Look here :
CredSSP policy change - no RDP possible (http://www.phasure.com/index.php?topic=4034.0).

Eh, good luck !
Regards,
Peter

Ah ok....  :)

It is W7 SP1

Have to try it all again.

 :)