XXHighEnd

Ultimate Audio Playback => XXHighEnd Support => Topic started by: Shreekant Somany on November 15, 2019, 09:38:55 am



Title: HQP
Post by: Shreekant Somany on November 15, 2019, 09:38:55 am
Hi Peter,
I have installed w10 10586 in the ssd I'am usying for the HQP player. I have tried everything but there is no sound output although the led in the DC is flashing when a track is played on Roon.( a headphone DAC plays)
In one of your notes i read that xxh has to be downloaded to run HQP through NOS1a
If so do I have to buy the software again?
shreekant


Title: Re: HQP
Post by: PeterSt on November 15, 2019, 01:14:36 pm

Hi Shreekant,

Quote
In one of your notes i read that xxh has to be downloaded to run HQP through NOS1a

I think you must have misread something. Thus, no need to use XXHighEnd whatsoever.

I will say it once again : I myself barely can get HQP to work, and as you can se in the other topic (I referred you to earlier), this is such a pain that *I* will never go there again.
And if you do it for SQ-hopes forget it (or asks others who may be more objective than I am).

Regards,
Peter


Title: Re: HQP
Post by: manisandher on November 17, 2019, 03:30:28 pm
Hi Shreekant, a very quick reply as I'm travelling for work right now...

HQP works fine with the NOS1, once set up correctly. One thing that simply doesn't seem to work is any 48 kHz output (1x to 16x) - only 44.1 kHz output rates seem to work. I'm not sure why this is the case, and I doubt Peter has the time or inclination to look into this. So make sure that the correct 44.1 output rate is showing in the NOS1 control panel. You can still play back 48 kHz based material, but just set HQP to output a 44.1 rate - it'll simply convert it (without any loss, according to Jussi).

Does HQP sound as good as XXHE? No, definitely not, especially with the latter in Unattended mode. However... HQP allows you to use Roon, with all it's functionality, including its DSP (which I find quite interesting).

For me, it was worth getting HQP working with the NOS1 to use in my office system. But I doubt this would be the case for many other NOS1 owners.

Mani.


Title: Re: HQP
Post by: manisandher on November 17, 2019, 03:33:48 pm

I think you must have misread something. Thus, no need to use XXHighEnd whatsoever.

Hi Peter (long time no talk!). Hope all's well...

I think early on, you were using XX to set the correct output rate, by playing a track of the desired rate through XX before using HQP. But actually, just setting the correct rate in the NOS1 control panel works fine.

Mani.