XXHighEnd - The Ultra HighEnd Audio Player
April 18, 2024, 05:41:41 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: August 6, 2017 : Phasure Webshop open ! Go to the Shop
Search current board structure only !!  
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Thanks and Sound Quality  (Read 44650 times)
simpsimon
Audio Loudspeaker

View Profile Email
« on: June 10, 2010, 03:32:25 pm »

Hi Peter, I'm new to your wonderful program.  My son Tony S introduced me to it.  He interceded yesterday in my behalf when I was having trouble getting an activation number from you. Thank you for responding so quickly to his request.  I am now able to log in thanks to him and you as you can tell by this message.

I am a vinylholic, audioholic, audiofool, which means I am addicted by excellent sound quality.  I converted to vinyl playback from CD playback two years ago.  I was a die hard surround sound fan until I rediscovered stereo in the vinyl format.  I modified my old Luxman Brid LV105 (tubed output stage), got a Technics 1400 from KAB, cleaned up all 300 of my old LP's, bought some new remastered virgin vinyl and sat back and was amazed at the warmth, detail and non sibilance vinyl presented.  To make a long story short, I've ripped all my CD's to my hard drive in WAV format using EAC (Exact Audio Copy) and when I compare the sound of a certain vinyl LP album to the same ripped album played using XXHighEnd, XXHighEnd comes very, very, very close to achieving vinyl sound quality.  I'm sure that with some practice I'll be able to duplicate vinyl sound.

Do you have any recommendations as far as settings that would help me in this endeavor.

Thanks again
SimpSimon
Telstar
Audio Addict

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 04:18:18 pm »

I'm sure that with some practice I'll be able to duplicate vinyl sound.