XXHighEnd - The Ultra HighEnd Audio Player
April 30, 2024, 11:17:44 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: August 6, 2017 : Phasure Webshop open ! Go to the Shop
Search current board structure only !!  
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Win7 on Mac Mini  (Read 11319 times)
cfmsp
Audio Loudspeaker

View Profile
« on: February 02, 2012, 05:18:37 am »

Hello Peter, Mani and others I recognize.

I've a question about the setup & configuration for trying XXHE on Apple hardware.  I'm a total windows idiot when it comes to audio, but have much experience tweaking OS X music servers.  I also have limited Linux experience, but I have been listening to Auraliti PK90 for the last few months.

I'm considering purchase of my first ever Windows license to try out a couple of Windows software players. Note: as a lifelong consultant, I've been exposed to Windows on a regular basis since I move off the mainframe in the early 90s.  Happy

I'm assuming I should pick up 64bit version of Win 7 SP1, either Home or Pro.  Does it matter which?  I'll be expecting to control the Windows music "server" from a Macbook Air. Not sure if I can use all the necessary features of Remote Desktop with the Home version.

My available hardware is a Mac Mini 4,1 (aka mid-2010 thru mid-2011).  I'd be using Bootcamp of course, to run Windows (almost?) natively in it's own partition.  I could also run this on the latest model Macbook Air, but prefer the Mini unless there's an advantage to the latter.

Any setup, install, XXHE-specific issues, concerns, I should worry about if I install Win7 on the Mac box?