XXHighEnd - The Ultra HighEnd Audio Player
April 18, 2024, 11:45:42 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: August 6, 2017 : Phasure Webshop open ! Go to the Shop
Search current board structure only !!  
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: My amazing sonic journey  (Read 7809 times)
benananda
Audio Loudspeaker

View Profile Email
« on: September 22, 2012, 10:27:12 am »

Hello, everyone.  I'm a newb, but I've learned so much in the past month.  If you'd like to get to the MIRACLE I have discovered just skip to the next paragraph.  So I built my new computer a couple months ago for gaming and HTPC with music fidelity in mind.  I'd like to share a few of my findings with you.  First, you guys are totally spot on about how SSD flat out ruins the sound.  Music's on spinning disk now.  The OS is still on the SSD for speed, I don't know if I should be putting it all on the spinning disk or not.  Speaking of the spinning disk, it's SATA2, but I found a discernible difference when I plugged it into the STAT3 port of my motherboard.  Perhaps its a better quality port, or something about the way the bus works?  Dunno.  Also, very important to note for Ivy Bridge users; the new lucid virtu feature allows you to use the onboard video.  I thought saving some wattage by using onboard video would be good for the system, but with SPDIF out (where I thought there'd be no difference) the sound was more muddied when video was routed through Ivy Bridge.  When turned off and using the video card the sound was clear.  I only did brief tests here, and don't know if it applies to USB use.