XXHighEnd - The Ultra HighEnd Audio Player
April 20, 2024, 12:18:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: August 6, 2017 : Phasure Webshop open ! Go to the Shop
Search current board structure only !!  
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: PC switching off and rebooting randomly... all of a sudden  (Read 23241 times)
manisandher
Crazy Audiophile

from-first-principles.com

View Profile WWW Email
« on: September 22, 2015, 12:53:04 pm »

Hi y'all! Sorry for my 'radio silence' these last few months - the summer has been crazy with lots and lots of work travel. But I'm now more settled and eager to finally find the time to upgrade to XX2.02. However, I have a problem with my PC that I need to solve first...

I've been using a Teradak ATX 275 linear power supply for over 6 months now. For most of this time, the PC has been simply left switched on (it sits in the basement and I've usually forgotten to switch it off even when there's been no one at home for a few weeks). And I've had zero problems... until a few days ago.

Playing music in Unattended, the PC now randomly switches off and reboots. This behaviour really does seem to be random. Sometimes, the PC will switch off during the reboot cycle, and sometimes not for 20-30 minutes of totally normal PC behaviour (including playing music). The PC is currently on right now as I type this post. It's sitting quite happily in Normal OS, doing nothing. It's been on for about an hour or so (just as a test). It seems totally happy. As I said, the switching/rebooting seems random.

When the PC switches off, one of the output LEDs on the Teradak PSU (I think it's the 3.3v output, but could be one of the 12v outputs - I'm not entirely sure) switches off. But I have no idea why the output is switching off. One hypothesis is that something in the PC is drawing too much current.