XXHighEnd - The Ultra HighEnd Audio Player
April 20, 2024, 10:31:27 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: August 6, 2017 : Phasure Webshop open ! Go to the Shop
Search current board structure only !!  
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Does Improving PC PSU and Reducing PC EMI/RFI Improve SQ?  (Read 197164 times)
earflappin
Audio Loudspeaker

View Profile
« on: November 03, 2009, 02:18:05 pm »

Hi All,
I'm new to XXHE, but became an instant convert when I heard 0.9y4 on my Zalman music server. 

Like many of us I have tried many tweaks over the years to improve SQ - some worked, some actually hurt SQ (1 step forward, 2 steps back) and others did nothing.

Recently, I did some experimentation with reducing EMI/RFI inside my Zalman PC.  Basically I took some ERS cloth (known for its EMI/RFI absorptive qualities), put it in a plastic bag (its conductive material!) and carefully encased my Lynx AES16 card.  The improvement was immediate.  Noise was reduced and SQ improved, specifically, richer tonality and increased micro/macro detail.  Has anyone else experimented in this area?   I've also put some ERS on my Zalman PSU with good results.  Next, I'm going to try putting some ERS on the IC chips on the Lynx.  The ERS is OK with high temp applications and the Lynx card doesn't run hot anyway.

Secondly, I've almost always found improving PSU (power supply unit) in components yields improvements.  I power my components with a PurePower 2000 APS which did great things for my SQ, but my Zalman PSU is just a stock switch mode PSU.  I would think, at a minimum, that the Lynx card would benefit from having a higher quality power supply, but the guys at Lynx tell me they don't think so....however, they also told me that added shielding wouldn't increase SQ.  Has anyone done work in this PSU area?
Thanks for sharing!